Ellipsis.

You took a period and turned into an ellipsis.

I didn’t even have to answer for that change to go into effect.

You put into motion an eruption of emotion I didn’t know I was there. But it had to be expressed.

An ellipsis is fine. An ellipsis was the status quo for so long. But I had come to accept the period; an occasional question mark. The exclamations had passed.

But an ellipsis . . . that’s something I don’t know what to do with.

* * *

This post was written as a Just Write exercise. A good challenge to get the rust off and find my creativity once more. Bear with me while I attempt to find it!

Check out others’  Just Write posts here.

Tagged , , ,

11 thoughts on “Ellipsis.

  1. Galit Breen says:

    Beautiful poetry.

    {Aching sadness?}

    I love that you’re carving for creativity. Yes, I love that.

  2. Sharone says:

    A period turned into an ellipsis…so beautifully expressed. I can’t explain it but I feel it and understand it. This is lovely.

  3. Bridget says:

    I absolutely love this…

  4. LivE says:

    i just found this post via WP and i must thank you – your wonderful post has roused my writing muse from her long sleep. :)

  5. […] gallivanting about the net’s highways and byways, I happened to stumble on this post on Muted Palette, which then led me to this post on The Extraordinary Ordinary (hello, i love that […]

  6. wow. beautifully expressed. no ellipses. just period.

  7. Sarah Koci Scheilz says:

    Poetic, beautiful words. Love this analogy.

  8. Amanda says:

    Beautiful. I’m so glad you’re making time and space for your creativity.

  9. adangross says:

    Thank you all for such nice comments. It really means a lot and is the reinforcement I need to express myself more!

  10. Erin says:

    Love, love, love the first sentence. Turning finality into a continuation? Happens so much in life, in so many ways.

  11. ohmygoodness this is the very best kind of poetic-ness. SO FELT and understood with Soul Speak.

    Thank you.

Tell Me How You Really Feel