Kick It!

Today I realized I was more of a Beastie Boys fan than I realized.

Wait. Let me take that back.

Fifteen minutes ago, I realized I was more of a Beastie Boys fan than I realized.

Earlier this afternoon, I found out via twitter and Facebook (like many of us) that Adam Yauch aka MCA of the Beastie Boys passed away today from cancer. And I acknowledged this was sad, but went on with my day. He had lived a great, meaningful life and while it is always sad when someone goes before their time, it was just another celebrity passing.

But then as I was driving home from work, something strange happened. “Brass Monkey” came on the radio and I felt a tear fall from my eyes. And then another. And soon they were consistently streaming. And then came that feeling in the back of my throat and the pit of my stomach where I felt a full-on BAWLING coming on.

This shocked the hell out of me.

I hate crying. Well, I like crying about stuff that doesn’t matter (like last night while watching a particularly sad episode of One Tree Hill). But I try to man up and handle the “real stuff.” You see, that’s what happens when you become known as the kid who cries a lot when in school: you either cry some more or you suck it up. I chose to suck it up.

But what did this mean for me? Well, you see, the Beastie Boys have been a constant for me at every stage of my life. Being born in 1982, I’ve been along for pretty much the entire ride. As a small child, my Dad used to sing (well, scream) “(You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (to Party)” at me. We didn’t have cable, but we would go to my parents’ friends’ houses to watch MTV and Beastie Boys videos. We sang the songs on the playground in elementary school. In middle school Ill Communication came out and I’d spent summer days at my grandparents’ (still no cable) waiting to see the “Sabotage” video and thinking it was the coolest thing ever (it still pretty much is). I remember finally purchasing my own copy of License to Ill in high school and having it in constant rotation in my car. I remember my friend Mok pretty much BEING the Beastie Boys, at least in my head. And “Intergalactic” . . . !!! It was EVERYWHERE. Then college came and while there weren’t as many new songs taking over my life, an even greater appreciation for their work was developed. And in law school there was the party where Blake, Kevin, and Ian came dressed as the “Sabotage” video, complete with briefcases.

You can’t deny the influence and the presence.

While always a fan but never a SUPERFAN or an OMG I HAVE THEIR ENTIRE CATALOG OMG OMG person, the loss of MCA and the loss of the Beastie Boys as I knew them does create a void in my life, like it or not.

 

Tagged , ,

Tell Me How You Really Feel

