Audience.

So this is my deal with this here blog:

Obviously if I’m posting it, I want people to see it. I expect people to find it. I believe in transparency and understand if I post something here, anyone can find it. While I don’t explicitly plaster my name all over this, I also don’t hide it.

However, I find I create the best (better?) content when I can pretend I am blissfully unaware. Again–I am not stupid. I know my mom probably reads this, or my coworkers, or some person from my past. And that doesn’t matter.

But it does matter in my mind when I go to post something. If I’m thinking I’m writing something specifically to my family, I start to think of facebook and my mom and grandma commenting on or liking everything. And that result doesn’t matter–it’s me. But in my mind, I start self-editing and start killing creativity to avoid the conversations and the comments and the likes.

It’s not about not being able to stand behind what I write–that’s all me and I will own up to it any day. What it is about is being able to be fully creative without editing my output to death.

Does that  make sense? It does for me.

This is a blog for accountability and discovering creativity (which might seem a little counterintuitive to say I can’t have in my mind that specific people are reading it if it is for accountability, but it works–I’m more honest). I would like to keep it that way, so I try to keep my head in the sand.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Audience.

  1. CultFit says:

    Sure does make sense. Try changing “I” to “we”…”yo” to “nosotros”. Or something along those lines. Nice post!

  2. adangross says:

    Good to know I am not alone and make sense . . . or rather “we” are not alone. :)

Tell Me How You Really Feel

