The Perfect Mix.

A couple weeks ago, I was fumbling for a CD in my car and decided to listen to whatever it was that was in my hand. It was an unmarked CD, which is not uncommon in the chaos that is my car. At any given time, there are at least 20 unmarked CDs in there. And usually I end up always randomly selecting the same goddamn disc.

Not this time.

Somehow, this gem had escaped me the last few years. It wasn’t that I had forgotten it, but I had certainly temporarily forgotten it. I believe I made it when on the quest to create the perfect mix CD. I remember being happy with it at the time, but this listening session 2.5 years later sealed the deal–to me, this mix is goddamn perfection. It is music.blankets.lights. music.

I recognize this is not perfection to all, but it is my perfection.

I present to you: April 2009 Mix, aka THE PERFECT MIX.

  1. Mulberry Squeezins – husband&wife
  2. Eau D’Bedroom Dancing – Le Tigre
  3. Haiti – Arcade Fire
  4. Future – Cut Copy
  5. Hard to Find – The American Analog Set
  6. Loro – Pinback
  7. Roller Queen – Jimmy Eat World
  8. When You Lie – Rob Crow
  9. Venus – Air
  10. New Holland – Early Day Miners
  11. We Have a Map of the Piano – Mum
  12. Inhaler – Hooverphonic
  13. Tres – Pinback
  14. Line of Best Fit – Death Cab for Cutie
It is important to note there is a substantial difference between a perfect mix and a mix filled with all my favorite songs. This is clearly the former. A few of these songs are on my top songs list, but the majority of them do not even come close. The perfect mix, to me, is about a collection of songs that flow together effortlessly and have a dynamic as a whole. And that, my friends, is what this collection is to me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zkC_7NQNx80

Tagged ,

Tell Me How You Really Feel

