Daily Archives: November 17, 2011

Creative Death.

Now here’s the part where I admit I have a crippling fear of coming off as “trying too hard.”

I love to write, but God forbid I write something that looks like I put any real effort into it. Hence the favor for stream of consiousness or spur of the moment revelations. Unless, of course, it’s an academic writing. But that’s a whole different story.

I love photography, but God forbid I shoot something purposeful. Hence the “photoadventures” where I drive or walk somewhere and just shoot whatever I come across. God forbid I do extensive editing/altering after-camera, so the vast majority (like 99%) of my work I share comes straight from the camera. (Or maybe I’m just a purist?)

I love drawing, but God forbid I spend time getting something just right. Hence the scribbles.

Once more I am probably repeating a message I have already shared on this blog, but who cares. This is what I am feeling–thinking–right NOW so this is what gets put down on “paper.”

Creative types: Any help to this problem? Is it so bad to take yourself seriously? Is it so bad to try or put effort in something? What can I do to stop editing myself from even trying? I’ve had some ideas lately but this fear of coming off as “trying too hard” stops me from action. This cannot continue.

Maybe it’s a confidence issue, or maybe it’s a laziness issue. I’d promise to be better, but wouldn’t that be trying too hard?

Tagged , ,