Flashback Friday

Lately, I’ve sucked with keeping up with this blog.  Or blogs in general.  It’s Saturday morning, I’m lazy yet alert, and it seems to be a good time to update.  So, without further ado, I bring you a Flashback Friday errr . . . Saturday!  Interesting because August is always such a transitory time.

* * *

August 22nd, 2001 | Age: 19 | Music: The Honor System

today I woke up, e-mailed chad, went to floor manager training, e-mailed chad, went to lunch, watched fight club, chilled, went to floor manager training, chilled, had dinner, chilled, talked to chad on the phone, chilled, sent chad a card, chilled, and now here i am. :) kristen also stopped in tonight…she moved all of her stuff in today. :)

anyways, i miss chad. :( but i am dealing pretty well…heh heh. just can’t stop thinking of him though! yeah yeah yeah. i’m sending him the cutest card…:) He said he ordered me something last night…I don’t know if I should be scared or what…:) oh well, everything he does is perfect for me. :)

I met a new girl in my dorm today. Her name is Colleen and she is from Oregon and a voice major…she’s pretty cool…so things are going well in that department. :)

I downloaded a fight club desktop theme today…i rule.

late.

* * *

August 22nd, 2002 | Age: 20 | Music: NONE

i have moved in.

tomorrow i will have telephone aka INTERNET.

thursday i will get cable.

tonight i must put everything away. my living room cannot be seen under a blanket of my personal belongings.

i live on a one way street.

must hang out with people tomorrow!!!

i saw a lot of people today.

i have really weird feelings that confuse me.

i am being stupidly bluntly dumbly confusing.

828 e. cottage grove ave apt #1

we are going to drink mudslides tonight.

* * *

August 22nd, 2003 | Age: 21 | Music: NONE

Bassaroni and I have become inseperable. We even spoon now.

Goals for the semester:
1)Do well on the LSAT
2)Straight A’s
3)Get into Law School
4)Own a cardigan in every color imaginable

* * *

August 22nd, 2004 | Age: 22 | Music: Har Mar Superstar – DUI

I went to this girl from school’s (Angie) party last night. It was good to be around people who weren’t pretentious at all, but it will take some getting used to of being around “non-rowdy” people…like, when I walked in Angie showed me to the fridge full of beer and asked if I wanted a koozie. I could never imagine anyone in Bloomington asking if I wanted a koozie, but then she explained she has a habit of getting belligerent and dropping slippery beer cans, so that made sense.

It will also be weird getting used to groups of people that contain married couples, engaged people, 30+ year olds with tucked-in shirts, strong conservatives, and strong liberals. Should be interesting though…

My street is getting pretty rowdy, on the other hand. Lots of drunken people running both to and from the frats and from my apartment complex. Minus the building I am in, my complex is Drake’s equivalent to the Villas. There is also a TWENTY-FOUR HOUR MCDONALDS down the street and going there was quite the experience…

I went to the new “JORDAN CREEK TOWN CENTER” mall yesterday…that was an experience…an over 1,000,000 square foot mall with an additional outdoor mall area, lake area, a 20 screen theater, A CHEESECAKE FACTORY, and a PF CHANGS. Damn wooey.

* * *

August 18th, 2005 | Age: 23 | Music: NONE

So…yesterday I grew balls and called ****…at NOON. Maren and I were out at the pool so I called him to come out and join us poolside. He didn’t answer, so I left a short, sweet message. About an hour later…he showed up! Just to say hey! And it wasn’t awkward!

THEN we had our back to school BBQ and he was the grillmaster. I decided to say something to him about the (THING) I left in his room…SO…I went up to him and told him I had to talk to him about something kind of embarassing and he looked at me and smiled and said he knew what I was talking about. BIG RELIEF. I didn’t want to send him on a scavenger hunt of his room for my (THING). He asked me if I was going out and I said he was and he told me he wasn’t.

Old Adrienne would have either begged him to go out or stayed in, but I just said “oh, that’s cool.”

And then I was out and he called me (!!!) and asked me what I was doing and I told him I was at the bar. And he said he was just studying but wanted to see if I wanted to stop over and pick up what I left. And then he said, “Maybe tomorrow.”

Let us hope he is trying to hang out and not just get my (THING) out of his room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

* * *

August 24th, 2006 | Age: 24 | Music: NONE

I <3 Minnesota!

I AM SO WEIRD! I TOUCHED HIS HAIR!!! WTF?!

* * *

August 28th, 2007 | Age: 25 | Music: NONE

I am going home and to Valpo this weekend.

I get my first “full” paycheck on Friday . . . hopefully my income estimates will not be too far off or I will be resorting to prostitution.

This guy was in an argument with his dad/grandpa in the stairwell of the courthouse right next to my office. It sounded like the guy was going to start beating the shit out of his dad/grandpa. So, I went and told them to please take it outside because I was trying to work. They didn’t get violent towards me. WAH. :(

My hair is getting really long . . . I was going to have Kristynn cut it this weekend, but now I do not know. I think I am just going to keep it going and see what happens. But maybe get my bangs re-cut. Add some definition to the front. Yes. It also got really wavy. WTF? See facebook for info.

I want a puppy, but not an annoying one.

I hate gnats and the giant fly that keeps flying around my office. Every time I see it, I feel like I am going to puke. Seriously.

My bones hurt. :( I’ll be finding out what is up with dat and what is up with me maybe having some sort of autoimmune disorder next week . . . should be AWESOME! WOO!!! MORE TESTS!!! Fingers crossed that it was a false positive or, in the alternative, one of the least nasty diseases!

* * *

August 21, 2008 | Age: 26 | Music: NONE

It’s been an interesting week . . . well, one thing has made it interesting and I can’t get that one thing out of my mind . . .

The past three or so weeks I’ve had problems with my neck. It’s been super stiff and sore, with limited motion. At varying points I had gigantic knots on the back of my neck.

Monday morning I was laying in bed and it was stiffer than normal. My alarm clock went off, and I jerked my head up from my pillow to get up and turn it off. Something POPPED very loudly and very painfully . . .

I managed to get up and turn the annoying alarm off, but then went back into bed where I just cried for about an hour–it hurt that bad. For about two hours, I just stayed in bed. Moving hurt like hell. I tried laying straight on my back with my neck supported by pillows, but a shooting pain would go down my spine to about mid-back. When I rolled on to my side, the vertical pain would go away, but then I’d feel a less intensive pain going across my shoulders.

I called the Dr. and was able to get an appointment in Des Moines at 2pm. I had a ride lined up, because I was sure I wouldn’t be able to drive if I couldn’t move.

Around 11 or so I finally got out of bed. I could move, and the pain was starting to go away. However, I had to maintain very “proper” posture to keep the pain away.

At 1pm, I decided to just drive myself. I hate people waiting on me in such situations. Once I was in my car and driving, I realized I shouldn’t have–I couldn’t turn my head from side to side!

At the Dr., I was given one look and told what the problem was: my chest. And I knew this and have been getting medical help for the last few years to alleviate the problems caused by having a disproportionately large chest: my shoulders slope forward under the strain, my neck bends the complete wrong way, too much pressure is put upon my spine in certain places, skin issues, and migraines, to name a few.

And then she did it: gave me a referral to have THE surgery done. She said she can’t see any reason my insurance wouldn’t cover it–she rarely gives referrals for such things and I was such an “extreme” example she had to give me one.

So, on September 30th, I am having a consult with a plastic surgeon. I am nervous and excited. At that point, I will be bringing in my old medical records and the Dr. will examine me and tell me what to expect. Then, he will draft a letter to my insurance to (hopefully) gain prior approval for the procedure. Once he hears from the insurance, we schedule surgery. I am hoping for late fall (when it’s usually nasty) or winter.

The recovery will SUCK–it takes SEVERAL WEEKS to get back to close to normal, usually about one week of BED REST, then a couple of weeks where you are very limited (can’t move your arms above head or drive). I’ll need someone to come and take care of me, and I’m thinking my grandma, so hopefully it will work out with her schedule.

PROS OF THE PROCEDURE:
+ I can wear strapless dresses!
+ I can buy bras at stores and not have to special order!
+ I can do pilates . . . never could before b/c of chest.
+ I CAN GO BRALESS IN PUBLIC!
+ I can wear button down shirts!
+ I won’t automatically think anyone who shows interest in me is some sort of big boob fetishist.
+ It will reduce my back pain/neck pain.
+ I will be able to run faster.
+ I won’t have to buy dresses a million sizes bigger than I am anymore; same with tops of any variety.
+ I will look like my true size instead of much bigger b/c of being “top heavy”

CONS:
+ LONG, PAINFUL RECOVERY
+ There will be vertical scars that will probably always be at least a little visible.
+ SUPER ROUND NIPPLES! (they cut them out and change the size to look right)
+ I will have to buy all new tops/bras.
+ There could be complications.
+ Depending on what method they have to use, I could lose sensation in my nip nips and not be able to breast feed if I have kids.
+ They will get big again if I have kids. (But the Dr. said they would then go back down)

UGHH! But I think you can tell which way I’m going to go . . . so long as it’s free, I’m going to do it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Flashback Friday

  1. Erin says:

    The Chad focused entry just made me laugh.

Tell Me How You Really Feel

