Flashback Friday

This week in the past:  transportation issues, humbling realizations, money problems, hypochondria, general craziness, karaoke, and moving.

April 14th, 2001 | Age: 18 | Music: None

i am so mad. my dumb car is broke. i came home all excited to drive around and my car is broke. damn battery. i am very pissed. and my mom want even let me touch her car or the truck, so i’m stuck at home.

* * *

April 8th, 2002 | Age: 19 | Music: pedro the lion – i am always the one who calls

well, my afternoon started like total crap with the whole terry ordeal. but it really kind of opened my eyes.

I am always whining about how no guys find me special, about how i am noone’s number one priority (yes, i know that sounds incredibly selfish and all, but…), about how i am just not DESIRED. but remembering how highly he regarded me made me realize that at one time i was the girl up on that pedestal. he would have done anything for me, and i crushed him. he still hasn’t dated anyone since, and that was 3 years ago. he’s called me a bitch, he’s called me beautiful, he says he never wants to see my face again, he says i’m perfect….

it’s all so fitting. such a punch in the face.

but it makes me think…maybe he was my one shot at being that girl who is so desperately pined over. That girl who makes any girl after her nothing and just a substitute for something that can’t be replaced. I had that chance….i became that. and i didn’t even realize it. all those times i’ve heard songs where the guy is crying about the girl who did him wrong and cannot be replaced…this time i was that girl.

but will i ever be that girl again for someone else? it’s so flattering…but i’m not the kind of bitch who gets pleasure from some poor guy “not being able to go on with his life”. it makes me feel like a horrible, rotten person. but it’s still oh so flattering.

i wish i had pictures.

* * *

April 11th, 2003 | Age: 20 | Music: None

i just spent some time walking down streets hoping to see glimpses of shiny coins so that i could do laundry. it worked…but i still need to do two more loads.

last night i threw up at work for no reason. it was weird. and i kept doing it. i felt fine though…i met up with my grandma and she gave me some “miracle” heartburn medicine that worked.

i got paid today and am now BROKE. if anyone has anything that they would pay me to do for them, let me know. and i am not talking about sexual things.

i have gotten no sleep this week. i am up late and then once i get into bed my back hurts so bad that i cannot sleep. fuck you, back. and today i freaked out and passed out in public. well, i don’t know if it was exactly passing out, but it was soo weird and i felt so dumb and crazy. i was parking my car and lightly tapped another car (as in not hard at all) and i flipped. i started shaking so hard and i kinda blacked out and fell as soon as i got out of the car. i couldn’t stop shaking for about 20 minutes. this happens every fucking time something minor like this happens. yowzas.

and i need new glasses.

and blah blah blah

* * *

April 10th, 2004 | Age: 21 | Music: None

I am friends with some crazy ladies! (LAURA AND AL I AM LOOKING YOUR WAY!)

Last night was totally knock-out fun. Ran into the old Joto crew…Gerald Matt was trying to be a playboy. Yeaaaah. Christine came out! Saw Dan!!! Vuthy danced a bit. Corey looks medieval.

In about an hour I am making the 3 hour trek home. Super fun times.

I don’t really know what else to say…I passed my econ exam with a B+ (61%!!! HA HA 4th highest in the class) and more than likely have one posh summer job lined up.

I want to go see Ben Folds at Purdue on May 1st but it costs $25…HMMM my birthday is May 6th…I WONDER WHAT WOULD MAKE A GOOD BIRTHDAY PRESENT FOR ME…HMMMM…I am willing to go by myself and drive.

BOOOBIES.

COLLLLEEEEGE!!!

Dude I am so going to catch Peter Cottontail tonight as he hops down that goddamn bunny trail…JUST YOU WAIT AND SEE.

* * *

April 10th, 2005 | Age: 22 | Music: None

I wish you guys would have been here for karaoke night…or this weekend in general. As my prior entry may have suggested, I stole the stage at karaoke night…singing numerous songs and stealing the mic during “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” to belt out “GIRLS JUST WANNA HAVE SEEE-EEEX.”

Friday consisted of Thai food and resale shopping, culminating with a group of us getting ready for the 80’s party at my place. It still smells like Aquanet in there. I looked greaaat. Photos coming soon (my batteries died). The party was good…dancing all night long. I broke a chair and did two keg stands. I had the best female outfit. Eric was dressed like a fucking tennis player and we went to the bar afterwords and people kept calling him “WIMBLEDON” and “MCENROE”…it was seriously funny shit.

Yesterday watched the Frozen Four championship with Jill and Maren…Denver won again and that is awesome and more people should really care about NCAA Hockey. Damn Minnesota girls getting me hooked on hockey. Went to Wellman’s in my pajamas with my bookbag. Didn’t drink.

Spent today at Gray’s Lake and I have quite the sunburn to prove it.

And I have a real crush on **** now and, well, that just plain sucks.

* * *

April 11th, 2008 | Age: 25 | Music: None

I will be in Chicago this weekend (shitty weather aside) . . . so call me and we can see each other!!! Or text. I like texts.

AND BIG NEWS!!!

I am officially moving . . . While I love my current, spacious apartment in Indianola, living so far from anyone I know has taken it’s toll–as have loud white trash neighbors. So, come some time in May, I will be moving into my friend Nicks’s house (KRISTYNN: you met him briefly when you visited once and he always asks how you are doing) in West Des Moines. I’ll be about 25-30 min from work, but mere minutes from my friends. Waking up earlier will suck, but it’s something I need to learn how to do. Plus, even with the increased mileage (which isn’t much as I was already driving to DSM 3-5 times a week . . . now I’ll just be driving to Indianola 5 times a week, and my car gets great mileage) I’ll be saving money–which will undoubtedly be spent GOING OUT more. AHHH LIFE.

The house is HUGE and FURNISHED with those big giant couches that your legs DON’T dangle from. And two big screen TVs. And a stocked bar. And a pool table, ping pong table, and foosball table. And enough storage for all my extra stuff. And a HOT TUB. And 4 bathrooms. And three living rooms.

And it’s in the RICH area. BOO YAH. Fake wealth!!!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Tell Me How You Really Feel

