Flashback Friday

Featured in this week’s Flashback Friday: SPRING BREAK! SPRING BREAK! SPRING BREAK! Plus, Supreme Court Day and health issues.  Not to mention–an Osama Bin Laden siting in Madrid, Spain, and my first ever trip to a strip club, accompanied by an ex-boyfriend and drunken college friends who had my back.  Very exciting stuff, people!

March 13th, 2001 | Age: 18 | Music: None

ahh…spring break…not quite.

I am having fun…but i am very badly sunburnt and it won’t go away! My hotel is filled with hundreds of drunk, disrespectful people.  because of them, everyone is getting charged extra for damages…which can’t afford.  we’ve gone clubbing the past two nights, which is fun but i hate when strange guys grope you. Every where any girl goes, all you can hear is “show me your tits!”… which is getting very old. I haven’t been drunk once and REFUSE to “show ’em”. My hotel is the “best” one on the beach though…we have a huge pool deck party every day w/ a whole bunch of contests…like an MTV spring break thing. Anyways…we just had a tornado go through…so that was pretty exciting. I won the lottery in georgia and tennessee…a total of $10!! we might be going on a gambling boat tomorrow…fun fun fun! well, catch up later :)

* * *

March 17th, 2002 | Age: 19 | Music: Weezer – Keep Fishin’

 home from work…so tired, so much to write. i will try to cover it all before falling into a coma.

the first part of spring break was pretty boring. did the whole traffic school thing. it was wicky wicky wild wild. then i just sat around and did nothing for years. i went bowling. bowling is cool. then i went out to lunch/shopping with erin and christina…that was nice. :) I hadn’t seen christina in forever and it was good to see her. and erin is always a pleasure to see. ;) then i did the lunch with the grandparents thing. whoopity!

so then friday night comes around…

at about 8pm Sarah, Christine, Gurjit, and Linda get to my house. Shortly after, scott pulls up. so we all pile in the cars and go to k-mart to pick up anita(she lives there. :) ) and it was dark and we couldn’t see clearly so scott drives over the grass into the parking lot. HA HA. then we all go to josh’s house where there are 5 million guys and kristen. we get in stealth mode and drive up to lake station to…DREAM GIRLS AT DEJA VU! yes kids, we went to a strip club. we get there, and all the girls except for me and kristen are in scott’s car chugging EVERCLEAR. and then i realize…i do not have my license! and neither did gurjit…well, she doesn’t have one since she’s from malaysia…but then i remember that my PASSPORT was in my purse…so all was well in nudie club world. so we all walk in…not knowing what to think.

…and it really wasn’t too bad…we all sat at a table and got our free cokes and popcorn…and linda had happened to sneak some everclear in. MUAHAHAHA. so we all sneakily spike our drinks and life is good. one of my old friends from YEARS AGO was working there. we soon found out that all the strippers were very nice girls and most of them liked us…hubba hubba. so we proceed to get kinda drunk and christine is just out of control…she bitched out the DJ and he went on to make this huge rant about how he is not homophobic and “as a matter of fact, it would be a lie to say i have never had a dick in my mouth”. at this point christine goes up to his booth to tell him he is “COOL”. oh yeah. so then we all go up to the stage and sit there waving our singles. of course since we were girls we got extra special treatment. this one girl made all of us put our heads in her crotch. it was…unusual. and then there was THE FEATURE! starring nikita, gold metalist at the 2001, 2002 Pole-lympics! heh heh…she came out of the ceiling dressed as Lara Croft and then the costume came off! ha ha. i could not beleive how skilled she was at what she does! VERY IMPRESSIVE! she took out this gold glitter body gel and rubbed it all over herself and set it back down on the stage…then christine just grabbed a whole bunch of it and put it on! ha ha…so one of the waitresses came and took it away from her. We all got free passes to come back and christine even got a dirty magazine featuring NIKITA herself! Sarah got it autographed by all the stripers.

well, christine just got worse and went up to chad and told him “You’re Adrienne’s ex-boyfriend…i know ALL about you” then did the “small dick” sign…yikes….she told me just wanted to make him feel bad because he was mean to me…she forgot we were “friends” again or whatever…I felt horrible…I hope he doesn’t think that i told her something about his…”thing”. so then we all went home and the girls all crashed at my house and sarah proclaimed her love for my dog,

the next day i drove up to east chicago and we got on the train and headed to chicago for st. patrick’s celebrations. it was pretty fun. first time i had ever seen the river BRIGHT green. ;) we got our faces painted and walked all over. some dude gave us the wrong directions to the cheesecake factory and anita went crazy. we tried to get green beer but they were checking IDs. poo! by the end of the night we were dead tired and all crashed at my place again. sarah again proclaimed her love for my dog.

all in all it was a fun weekend. heh heh

* * *

 March 17th, 2003 | Age: 20 | Music: Rainer Maria – Long Knives

 this barbie kite is burning a hole through my hands.

i want to fly it.

and get ice cream. and maybe skip arm and arm down the street.

or just live out every of these simple, innocent, springtime fantasies i have.

country girl becomes town girl.

almost feel like i am missing my petticoat.

or my brain.

spring fever leads to romance leads to a hole in my heart.

leads to record stores and board games and kites.

please hold these kite strings and take me way out. take me out of the blue.

or something equally spring-like.

and i can cook.

and i need some cuddle action. possibility: ZERO.

and my communication is down due to a missing antenna.

find me my spring(love)fling

kites.

* * *

 March 14th, 2004 | Age: 21 | Music: None

I brought home all of my photos from Madrid to show my parents.

There I was, in front of the Atocha station. There I was, riding the train to Toledo. There was even the photo labeled “This is where I saw Bin Laden.”

Of course I don’t actually know if the man I saw in the white truck in front of the Prado was in fact Bin Laden. But when you have seen a face posted all over everything you see for the past 2 and something years and you see one that is eerily familiar, you can’t help but feel your heart drop and fear sneak in.

The chances of this man actually having been Bin Laden are small, so I never alerted anyone. For all I know, I was just a fearful American who had just seen a disheveled Arab man in a city known for being an Al Queda hub and just GOT SCARED.

But the fact is an attack of this magnitude needed to require some sort of massive planning. The attackers very likely could have been in the area in early January. And this man that I saw who looked like no other man I had seen on this trip could have very well been involved, but I would really prefer not to assume his guilt due to his ethnicity…’cause man that is LAME.

But the way he looked at me when I crossed the street…I have never had anybody look at me like that. He was staring intensely, his head almost touching the top of the cab of his truck. The look he gave was what had scared me the most. I wanted to take a picture, but I fear that could have been a very bad choice on my behalf…

So basically, a tragedy has occurred that (I hate to say it) has struck a little closer to me than 9-11…simply for the reason that I had never been to New York. I couldn’t place the location with the people with the mood with the atmosphere…it was just bits and pieces of news reports and americana. Yes, it hit me hard. Yes, it made me terribly sad. But with this, I can remember what it was like to stand in that place…and I was only there for 2 weeks…

How are erin* and christine handling this?! Christine had only left Madrid a week earlier…what if she had still been there? Are all of the people we met okay?

My mom said while looking at my photos, “It’s weird thinking that some of the people in these photos were either killed or injured.”

And yeah, it is.

I will be posting happy pictures from America tomorrow.

Leave me happy messages to get me out of the funk that being in Lowell causes.

* * *

March 13th, 2005 | Age: 22 | Music: None

It’s been a busy/eventful weekend.

Friday night went out to the bars and somehow got drunk off of 2 drinks. Weird.

Yesterday was SUPREME COURT DAY…aka get dressed up and wasted. I bought myself a small bottle of Hennessey. I did Jill and Christina’s hair and makeup. (ME! The hair and makeup girl! What a crazy thought!) Went to Amanda and Tami’s for cocktails. They messed up our fucking tables at the Banquet. So I was pissed. The dinner was good. The bar charged for Coke. WTF. Bought one coke and spiked it with my entire bottle of Hen…aka I was drinking straight Hennessey. Keynote speak by Jan Schlictman, aka John Travolta’s character in a Civil Action. Perfected the art of “country club drunk. Ordered myself an entire bottle of wine. Drank it all. Ben got me some rum. I got a g&t. Danced a lot. Decided the Humpty Dance is the best song ever. Decided a certain 3L girl is the biggest fucking bitch I have ever encountered when she said “when are people who are NOT fat going to get here?” I want to kill her. Bitched to Kaveeh and he said I am hot, so I felt better.  After hours downtown at Nate M’s. More dancing.  Provocativeness. We took turns taking dollars out of cleave and crotch with our teeth.

THE WORST FUCKING THING WAS THE DUDE I HAVE A CRUSH ON DIDN’T SHOW EVEN THOUGH HE HAD A TICKET. GAAAH.

I have a LOT of pictures from the past week, but there are too many to post so here are the links to my photo albums. You should really look.

* * *

March 17th, 2006 | Age: 23 | Music: None

This is the official “I am coming to Bloomington in a few days” post.

After much consideration, I have decided I would like to see some people (actually, I really want to see my grandparents) and exotic Bloomington is my ideal locale. HOWEVER, I would only be there from monday until thursday, or wednesday if it sucks. I know this is during the “school week,” but COME ON! Entertain me!!!! I will spend thursday night and friday day in Lowell (Kristynn and Dan: I don’t know how much availability I will have up north. I want to see you guys, but my mom made it clear if I am only going to be home for a day, I need to spend it with family. I will see what I can work out!), and then go up to Chicago to see ADRIA and meet up with people from school for the weekend. Anyone is welcome to come for that! I would love for people to meet my friends from school!

AHHH! ENTERTAIN ME.

* * *

March 17th, 2008 | Age: 25 | Music: None

I’M HEALTHY!

Well, I didn’t really think I wasn’t, but it is always good to find out that you are!!!

I had some routine doctor appointments last week and since I am getting older and because of my PCOS, she wanted to start testing my cholesterol, blood sugar, and thyroid as I am at a higher risk of those sort of things.

All perfect! And my blood pressure is still right on the nose perfect. Pretty bitchin’.

And I’ve apparently lost 20 pounds since this summer just by working out and then letting the impact of the exercise control my diet. No real diets for me! But I find the more I exercise the less I crave gross foods. This week all I’ve wanted have been fruits and veggies. Although Wendy’s will always have a place in my heart and I would eat it every day if I could. Which is why it’s a good thing the closest one is 15 miles away!!!

I have so much stuff to do at work. Blech. But I am healthy! YAY!

Now tomorrow I find out if my dental regimen has been keeping the cavities away. I had EIGHT last time, and I don’t even drink pop or coffee!!!

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Flashback Friday

  1. erin says:

    Randomly, I *just* found a photo from that spring break outing with Christina. We were trying on dresses somewhere, maybe Carson’s?

  2. adangross says:

    I’m pretty sure that was the last time I ever saw Christina. Did I go dress trying-on with you two? I can’t remember if I did, but I think I just met you for lunch.

Tell Me How You Really Feel

