The Best Photgraph Ever

bestphotoever

This is–by far–my favorite photograph ever.  Well, technically it’s a slide, but you get the point.

This image is almost 50 years old.  The baby featured is my mother, who just turned 50 in November.  The man is my grandpa, who is now in his 70s.  The white siding belongs to the garage of the home where I grew up.

For one thing, I think why this image speaks so much to me is partly because of the fact that it is in vivid color and not faded or black-and-white.  Usually, our exposure to photographs of our grandparents when they were our age are black-and-white.  Here, I can see my grandpa in full color.

Then there is the emotion and feeling in it.  A young man, outside on a clear day, making his baby laugh.  Can’t beat that.

Now, for a little perspective, I’ll share a photograph of me and my mom by that same garage, probably in 1985 or 1986–cracked and peeling then, now it no longer exists.

For the record, my mom no longer has a mullet.  And it was the 80s.

For the record, my mom no longer has a mullet. And it was the 80s.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “The Best Photgraph Ever

  1. Erin says:

    Can I just say that I am so glad that maternity shirts no longer have capped sleeves?

  2. shel says:

    that is an awesome picture! i love dads.

Tell Me How You Really Feel

