Trashy TV: One of Life’s Simple Pleasures

I admit it. I love and am addicted to trashy reality TV. Not every show, but mostly the ones on Vh1. You know, Rock of Love . . . Charm School . . . I Love Money . . . the list goes on.

Some friends look at me like I’m crazy when I mention having set the DVR up to tape such shows. They don’t say it, but I know they are thinking that watching those shows makes me stupid, trashy, and less than classy.

Well, I beg to differ.

I don’t admire the people on these shows; I don’t aspire to be them. Rather, these shows are a release . . . an hour of not having to think at all.

Yes, I like being challenged and like to be aware of what is going on in the world, but COME ON. You can’t expect me to be constantly yearning to be enriched through my entertainment. I JUST WANT TO BE ENTERTAINED! I want to see slutty women throwing themselves at some middle-aged dude with a bandanna. I want to watch bitch fights and dude fights and look forward to “the producers” getting called out to set things straight. I want to laugh at how stupid some people are and feel compassionate when you see someone really “trying” to change their life.

I don’t think this makes ME stupid or trashy. Just because I have an advanced degree and a legal career doesn’t mean I want to spend all my time watching news programs and legal discussions. Bitch please.

Now, excuse me but the Rock of Love: Charm School Reunion is on . . .

Tagged

Tell Me How You Really Feel

